Allen Americans

The Allen Americans were established in 2009-2010, along with the Missouri Mavericks, as an expansion team in the former Central Hockey League. The Americans have qualified for the playoffs five seasons in a row, including three trips to the Presidents' Cup Finals. In 2009-2010, Allen lost to the Rapid City Rush in the Presidents' Cup Finals in six games. The Allen Americans returned to the Presidents' Cup Finals in 2012-2013 & 2013-2014 winning back-to-back titles. In 2012-2013, Allen defeated Wichita in seven games, winning by a score of 3-2 in overtime on a goal by Todd Robinson. Brian McMillin, the longest current tenured Allen Americans player was named the Finals MVP. The Americans repeated as champions in 2013-2014, defeating the Denver Cutthroats in five games. Jamie Schaafsma was named the finals series Most Valuable Player.

The Americans joined the ECHL after 5 seasons in the Central Hockey League, which ceased operations this past off-season. Allen, along with 6 other teams; Brampton, Quad City, Tulsa, Wichita, Rapid City and Missouri became members of the ECHL in October of 2014.

The Americans signed an affiliation with the NHL’s San Jose Sharks and AHL’s Worcester Sharks in September of 2014. Goalie Aaron Dell was assigned to Allen from San Jose. The Allen Americans have had affiliations with two other NHL clubs in their five year history, the Dallas Stars from 2009-2011 and Colorado Avalanche in 2011.

The Americans have had 2 ownership groups in their 6-year history. Douglas Miller, the former CEO of Exco Resources formed Top Shelf LLC and was the team's original owner from October of 2009 through May of 2014. During that time. Miller brought on 4 members to his ownership group that included four former NHL players; Mike Modano, Ed Belfour, Craig Ludwig and Richard Matvichuk. In May of 2014, Miller sold the franchise to Steven Sports Group, based in Wichita, Kansas.

Matt Canavan has served as team President the last 4 seasons, taking over for Steve Duchesne, who was President in the team's inaugural season of 2009, with Canavan serving as Vice President.

The Allen Americans have had 2 Head Coaches in their existence. Dwight Mullins was hired on to coach the then expansion team in 2009, and remained the coach through the 2011-2012 season. Steve Martinson was hired to replace Mullins in the 2012-2013 season. Martinson is a native of Minnetonka, Minnesota. He played professionally for 12 years, spanning from 1981-1996 at several different levels. Martinson played in 50 games in the National Hockey League, for parts of four seasons with the Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadians and Minnesota North Stars.

The Allen Americans have had 5 captains in their 6-year history; Jarret Lukin in 2009-2010, Tobias Whelan in 2010-2011, Jason Deitsch for two seasons in 2011-2012 and 2012-2013, Mike Berube in 2013-2014 and Jamie Schaafsma in 2014 to the present.

The Allen Americans have had 1 player in their 6-year history that moved up to the National Hockey League. Jordie Benn, who was on the Americans inaugural roster in 2009-2010, is a current two-year member of the NHL’s Dallas Stars.

The team’s primary colors are Red, White and Blue and have worn those colors all 6 seasons of professional hockey. The Americans had a blue alternate jersey in 2009-2010 and 2010-2011.

Tommy Daniels is the teams Broadcaster and Director of Media Relations. Daniels, along with Matt Canavan and current assistant Coach and former player Erik Adams are the team's only remaining staff from the inaugural season.

More Information
The team's offices are located inside Allen Event Center at 200 E Stacy Road, Allen, Texas 75002. Phone number is 972-912-1000.

The Americans play in the 6,200 seat Allen Event Center, located at 200 E Stacy Road in the Village at Allen. Reba McIntyre played the first event at the new building on November 6, 2009. The Americans played the second event, the following night, on November 7, 2009 against Corpus Christi.